Patrickswell GAA












GAA President Christy Cooney's visit to Patrickswell - 23rd Sept. 2011


The club was honoured to welcome Uachtarán Cumann Luthchleas Gael, Christy Cooney to Patrickswell. Mr. Cooney’s first official duty was to unveil a plaque to mark the recent refurbishment of club facilities. There was a large attendance present to hear various addresses by senior GAA officials. Chairman Paul Foley introduced the speakers and hosted the event. Christy Cooney focussed on the requirement for every club to invest in future development – both on the pitch and structurally. He paid tribute to Patrickswell’s rich history and the important role that the ‘Well has played in the Association over 60 years.

Liam Lenihan (Limerick GAA Chairman) acknowledged the pivotal part that Patrickswell has played in Limerick GAA history before Oliver Mann (Patrickswell and Limerick GAA Vice Chairman) lauded the impressive achievements of the club during his own lifetime. Paddy Verdon of Na Piarsaigh (City Board Chairman) spoke on behalf of the City Board, of which Patrickswell is a member. He was very complimentary of Patrickswell GAA and offered the club his best wishes for the future.

Christy Cooney then presented awards to six victorious teams – the All-Ireland Set Dancing Champions, Ard Scoil Ris’ Harty Cup representatives (Kelvin Lynch, Cian Lynch, Jack Kelleher, Mark Carmody, Kevin O’Brien and Natal O’Grady), the Under 13 Hurling County Champions, the Under 13 Camogie County Champions, our two representatives on the Limerick Under 16B All-Ireland Camogie team (Brid Murphy and Janet O'Carroll) and our two representatives on the Ard Scoil Ris White Cup team (Cian Lynch and Aaron Gillane).

(Please click on the photos to enlarge
photos courtesy of James McCarthy and Bernard Hayes):




Copyright © 2004 Patrickswell GAA Club