Patrickswell GAA












[Home Page...]

County Cup Final - 19th October 2014
(Please click on the photos to enlarge)

County Cup Champions 2014 Captain Brian Murray receives the County Cup
 from County Board Chairman Oliver Mann
(Report Courtesy of James McCarthy, PRO):
The senior hurlers ended their season on a high note by retaining the County Cup against Effin. The game was evenly balanced after five minutes at 0-2 apiece (Diarmaid Byrnes and Tom O’Brien). Patrickswell’s forwards increased their tempo and were rewarded with two devastating goals in three minutes from Tom O’Brien and Aaron Gillane. The scoreboard displayed a healthy 2-2 to 0-2 advantage after ten minutes and ultimately decided the match.

Effin responded with three points without reply to reduce the deficit to one goal. Tom O’Brien (0-2) and Lar Considine restored the six-point lead with some fine scoring. The remainder of the first half saw Effin chip away at the deficit, but the ‘Well reached the interval with a 2-7 to 0-9 lead.

At the start of the second half, the teams exchanged four points each from Cian Lynch (0-2), Diarmaid Byrnes and Tom O’Brien. There were twenty minutes remaining with Patrickswell holding off Effin at 2-11 to 0-13. The outcome looked almost certain when points from Mark Carmody, Tom O’Brien and Lar Considine increased the margin to seven points. Effin were not in the mood to lie down and trimmed the arrears back to four points with three unanswered scores. Patrickswell were 2-14 to 0-16 ahead with ten minutes on the clock and Effin were still in the hunt.

However, the match was over as a contest when Tom O’Brien notched Patrickswell’s third goal and Jack Kelleher, Pat Howard and Lar Considine contributed points. The ‘Well supporters were relaxed with the nine-point margin at 3-17 to 0-17. The game closed with 1-1 from Effin and late points from Jack Kelleher, Tom O’Brien and Lar Considine. Brian Murray accepted the County Cup from County Board Chairman Oliver Mann. The final score was 3-20 to 1-18. Well done to the players and management


Copyright © 2004 Patrickswell GAA Club