Patrickswell GAA












All County Hurling League Champions 2009

Played in Gaelic Grounds on Thur., 6/08/09

Patrickswell 2-15; Ballybrown 2-11


Match report courtesy of James McCarthy, club PRO:

The senior hurlers won the All County League after a hard-fought victory over neighbours Ballybrown at the Gaelic Grounds. Ballybrown dominated the opening fifteen minutes and established a commanding 1-4 to 0-2 lead. However, the ‘Well were boosted by a goal from Tim Sheahan that reduced the deficit to two points. Ballybrown then added another two points to restore their four point lead. The game swung in Patrickswell’s favour when Peter O’Reilly scored a superb goal from a very tight angle. To their credit, Ballybrown remained calm and nudged ahead by 2-6 to 2-4 with their second goal. Patrickswell managed to end the first half with three unanswered points and led by 2-7 to 2-6 at the break.

Ballybrown started the second half with two more points, but the ‘Well countered with a series of points. Ballybrown were kept at arm’s length throughout the second half as the game ended up 2-15 to 2-11. Ciaran Carey accepted the trophy as captain of Patrickswell and thanked Ballybrown for a very competitive match.

Ciarán Carey accepts the trophy as captain of Patrickswell


Copyright © 2004 Patrickswell GAA Club