Patrickswell GAA












[Home Page...]

City Senior Hurling Championship Winners (12/7/18)
Patrickswell 0-19, Ballybrown 0-18

City Senior Hurling Championship Winners with the cup
James Mann being presented with the cup by Mike Roberts
(Report Courtesy of James McCarthy, PRO):
Patrickswell clinched the City Senior Hurling Championship after a narrow win against Ballybrown. Our neighbours made a bright start and secured two points in the opening five minutes. Jason Gillane registered the 'Well's first point and started a period of dominance. Over the space of fifteen minutes, Patrickswell notched seven points from Peter Harty (0-2), Josh Considine, Calvin Carroll, Kevin O'Brien, Jason Gillane and Lar Considine. The scoreboard on 20 minutes displayed a 0-8 to 0-4 advantage to Gary Kirby's men. Ballybrown stemmed the tide with a fresh point, but Lar Considine, Jack Kelleher, Peter Harty and Seanie O'Brien extended the lead to 0-12 to 0-6 after 25 minutes. The Clarina men recovered with a trio of consecutive points just before the half-time whistle. Fortunately, Jack Kelleher popped up with a point to put Patrickswell 0-13 to 0-10 ahead at the interval.

The second half began with an exchange of two points apiece within five minutes. There was a very competitive edge to the fixture as Ballybrown drew level with three straight points at 0-15 apiece. Patrickswell countered with two Peter Harty points, after which Ballybrown struck another point. There were ten minutes left and the 'Well held the narrowest lead of 0-17 to 0-16. Seanie O'Brien and Peter Harty fired over additional points as the pendulum swung in Patrickswell's favour. Ballybrown showed great resilience and secured two points to trail by 0-19 to 0-18. There was a huge sigh of relief as a late Ballybrown chance sailed narrowly wide. Patrickswell had won the City Championship and James Mann collected the trophy.


Copyright 2004 Patrickswell GAA Club