Patrickswell GAA












[Home Page...]

City Senior Hurling Final - 27th June 2014
(Please click on the photos to enlarge)

City Champions 2014
Brian Murray, captain, accepts the Cup Diarmuid Byrnes accepts the Man of the Match award
(Photos & Report Courtesy of James McCarthy, PRO):
The senior hurlers won the City Championship after a spirited comeback against Ballybrown. Tom O’Brien cancelled out Ballybrown’s opening point; however our opponents raced into a 0-5 to 0-1 lead within ten minutes. Thankfully, Diarmaid Byrnes stemmed the onslaught with a point, although Ballybrown had still established a 0-7 to 0-2 advantage by the twenty minute mark. The remainder of the first half belonged to Patrickswell as Lar Considine (0-2), Kevin O’Brien (0-2) and Tom O’Brien (0-1) narrowed the half-time deficit to 0-9 to 0-7.

The second half began in a balanced manner as Cian Lynch struck a point before Ballybrown secured two points of their own. The ‘Well faced a considerable task at 0-11 to 0-8 behind, but the players experienced a purple patch when Lar Considine, Cian Lynch and Tom O’Brien notched points to level the contest at 0-11 to 0-11. The key moment of the final occurred when Andrew Carroll plundered a close range goal for Patrickswell to lead for the first time at 1-11 to 0-11. The last ten minutes was a tense affair as the sides traded points, with scores from Tom and Kevin O’Brien. The ‘Well stood firm when Ballybrown mustered a late goal chance and triumphed by 1-13 to 0-14. Brian Murray lifted the City Championship trophy and Diarmaid Byrnes won Man of the Match. Congratulations to the players and management.



Copyright © 2004 Patrickswell GAA Club